What is a Beaver Moon? The November Full Moon’s Name & Meaning

What is a Beaver Moon? The November Full Moon’s Name & Meaning

Every month has at least one full moon, and each moon has a name. Early Native American tribes named the moons based on the seasons. This could include flora in bloom at that time of the year, animals that are active, or the tribe’s activities such as hunting or harvesting.

The Beaver Moon is also sometimes known as the Frost Moon.

*This article contains affiliate links*

When Is the Beaver Moon?

The Beaver Moon falls in late November. It comes after the Hunter’s Moon when the game is fattened for winter and easier to hunt in the cleared fields and before the Cold Moon when winter has settled across the land.

This year, the Beaver Moon will reach its peak on November 8, 2022 at 6:02 a.m. EST.


Why Is the November Full Moon Called the Beaver Moon?

With winter quickly approaching, Native American tribes and European trappers set their beaver traps to collect the warm pelts before the swamps and ponds froze over. The beavers would soon retreat into their lodges, which are their small, dome-shaped “houses” made by weaving together sticks, grasses, and mosses, all held together with mud.



The 2021 Beaver Moon Eclipse

At 3 hours, 28 minutes, and 24 seconds, the November full moon eclipse is the longest partial eclipse to occur in 580 years. All of North America and parts of South America and Russia will be able to see the show.

Although it’s technically not a TOTAL lunar eclipse, it’s about as close as you can get while falling just shy of 100%. The umbra will cover all but a tiny sliver of the full Beaver Moon. Here are the times of the 2021 November lunar eclipse:

  • 1:02 A.M. EDT (10:02 P.M. PDT) – The eclipse begins as the moon enters the penumbra (outer shadow edge)
  • 2:18 A.M. EDT (11:18 P.M. PDT) – The moon will reach the umbra (darkest part of the shadow)
  • 4:02 A.M. EDT (1:02 A.M. PDT) – Peak of the partial lunar eclipse
  • 5:47 A.M. EDT (2:47 A.M. PDT) – The moon passes back into the penumbra
  • 7:03 A.M. EDT (4:03 A.M. PDT) – The eclipse ends as the moon leaves the penumbra

How to Honor the Spiritual Meaning of the Beaver Moon

When the full moon arrives in November, the seasons are in transition. We are in the dark half of the year now. The trees have dropped most (if not all) of their leaves, the mornings are crisp with frost, and the smell of the first snow is in the air.

We are slipping deeper into the restful transition phase of the year. Like the beavers and other animals, we prepare to hunker down for winter.

The Beaver Moon is a time of reflection and gratefulness. The end of the year is a good time to look back on your journey and consider the goals you had set at the beginning of the year. Did you reach them? Even if you haven’t yet, did you progress in the right direction? Why or why not? What can you learn from your achievements and failures when you’re ready to set new intentions?

For this moon, find a quiet place to meditate and focus on your breathing. Think about the importance of rest so you feel recharged and ready to set new intentions soon with the new year. Take a little “me time” and do whatever helps you relax.

This is also a good time to clean your home. Your lodge should be comfortable as you prepare to settle in for winter. Decorate with things that make you happy. Burn candles to remember the power of warmth and light even when the days are short and cold.

For more information on full moons, see the 2022 full moon calendar with names, dates, and meanings here.

Last updated: November 18, 2021

 

Website | + posts

Award-winning fantasy author, freelance writer, spiritual explorer, and sole founder of Green Witch Lunar Witch. She created her first website in 2016 and published her first novel two years later. Sara spends most of her time writing, creating, and daydreaming.

6 thoughts on “What is a Beaver Moon? The November Full Moon’s Name & Meaning

  1. I had so much fun doing a ritual with this moon! I’ve been slacking really badly lately, but here’s to manifesting your dreams 🖤

    1. I can relate! It’s hard to consistently make time to unplug and meditate, but so worthwhile for your mental and spiritual wellbeing. Full moon blessings 🖤

  2. I always love learning the lore and history behind stuff like this! I always thought it was so silly to give the moon so many different names until I started learning things like this.

    1. Agreed! I never used to understand the names either, but the more research I did, the more I became intrigued by what the moons represented for each season.

    1. Yes! It’s a great starter subscription, especially because it comes at different levels with different price points. So you can start small and then invest in the bigger boxes if you love it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.